Summer Newsletter

Watch your mailbox for your
print version of the newsletter
to arrive soon.

Click here to read it now. 


Do you know somebody deserving recognition for being proactive in protecting water quality in the Coeur d'Alene Lake Basin? The Coeur d’Alene Chamber of Commerce Natural Resources Committee is accepting nominations for the Local Gem award.  Nominations are always accepted, but if you’d like your nomination to be considered for an award at the August Upbeat Breakfast, please submit nominations by July 5, 2016.


“Local Gems” is a program hosted by the Natural Resources Committee in partnership with the Coeur d’Alene Lake Management Team (Idaho Department of Environmental Quality and the Coeur d’Alene Tribe). Our purpose is to recognize those in the Coeur d’Alene Basin taking positive steps to protect our water quality (e.g. low impact development, water quality education, using proper Best Management Practices near local waters). If you know a person, business, or organization deserving recognition, please fill out the form on the Our Gem website ( and submit to:

Local Gems

c/o Coeur d’Alene Chamber of Commerce

105 N. 1st Street

Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814

CLPOA Mission      Board of Directors
What is now know as the Coeur d'Alene Lakeshore Property Owners Association was incorporated as the Coeur d'Alene Lake Property Owners and Taxpayers Protective Association, Inc. in Idaho in November of 1964.

1964 Purpose:

To form an association of owners of property in the waters and lands of Coeur d'Alene Lake drainage area in Idaho and to promote sound and progressive development of the waters of said lake, its tributaries and lakeshore property.

To encourage development of lake-shore property, installation of navigational aids and all other development that will improve the lake and enhance proprety values of contiguous property.

To promote all forms of water safety, safety education, safety rules and regualtions and the enforcement thereof.

To oppose descriminatory treatment of lake-shore or Coeur d'Alene Lake drainage area property owners by taxing or other public authority. Generally to take any and all action neemed advisable by the corporation to represent the common interests of the owners of property on Lake Coeur d'Alene and its drainages. 

In 2007 the following mission statement was publicized:

CLPOA is committed to preserving and promoting the environmental and recreational benefits for the use and enjoyment of Lake Coeur d'Alene. 


    Executive Director
    Rand Wichman

     President of the Board
     Greg Delavan

     Vice President
     Bruce Cyr - Stevens Point

     Jim Riley

     Rick Carr - Silver Beach

     Peg Carver - St. Joe River
     Robert Hagen
    Joa Harrison - Wolfe Lodge Bay
     Jim Head - Turner Bay
    John Magnuson - Kidd Island Bay
     John MacPhee

     Skip Murphy - Casco Bay
     Roy Newton - Everwell Bay

     Rusty Sheppard - SRA Director
     Spokane River Association
    John Thomas

     Mark Wagner - Harrison
     Jerry Krellwitz